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Bidding Partner’s Values 
 
By Sue Himel 
 
How many times have you heard someone say, “Bid your own hand, and I will bid my hand,” ?  Well, there 
is one situation in which you should bid on partner’s values. 
 
1H - P - P - ?  Bidding in this position is called balancing.  It is not the same as an overcall.  When you 
make an overcall,  you promise a certain amount of strength.  That is because the opponents’ have opened 
the bidding and they have already advertised some cards and exchanged some information.  You must be 
certain to have some values since your partner may have none.  However, in the balancing chair, partner is  
usually marked with some values.  How do we know that? 
 
Your LHO opens with 1H and there are 2 passes to you.  You hold QTxxx, xx, Kxx, QJx.  LHO did not 
open with a 2C bid, so he should have less than 22 points.  Your RHO passed, so RHO should have less 
than 6 points.  21 + 5 = 26.  You have 8 points and 26 + 8 = 34.  Your partner must have at least 6 points, 
and probably has considerably mo re.  So, you are allowed to bid with less than you should have to  
overcall because partner is marked with some values.  You “borrow” some of partner’s values and make a 
bid of 1S. 
 
Why didn’t partner bid?  Partner may have a problem hand. Suppose your RHO opens with 1H and you 
hold: Ax, KTxx, QJxx, Kxx.  With this balanced hand and no 5 card suit, you have no call except a Pass.  It 
is not right to make a Take Out Double without spade support, and you have no 5 card suit to overcall.  
You must pass.   
 
Now in the balancing chair, when you hold less than you should have for an overcall, it is important to 
reopen the bidding in order to protect your partner.  Partner made a disciplined pass in the direct seat; 
protect him by bidding if you can.  How much of partner’s hand should you “borrow”?  I suggest you 
borrow a King.  That will allow you to make a one level bid with as few as 5 points if your hand is 
appropriate, since most overcalls are made with 8+ points.  Borrow a King and then make the same bid that  
you would in the direct seat. 
 
Since the balancer “borrowed” a king, the partner of the balancer must remember to “subtract” a King 
before responding. So, if you balance with the first hand given, your partner must not bid until s/he 
“subtracts” a King.  If partner balances, and you hold the hand given above for the partner of the balancer, 
you must take 3 points away from your total before deciding what to respond.  With a balanced 10 point 
hand, and no fit for partner’s suit, what is your response?  Right, 1NT. 
 
Now, let’s look at a better hand that the balancer might hold. The auction has proceeded 1C - P - P - ?  And 
your hand is  KJx, Qxx, AJx, KTxx.  This time you have no 5 card suit and a balanced hand.  You need to 
bid here, but what?   Even though you have a decent hand this time, you must still “borrow”  a King before 
bidding.  If you add 3 points to your hand for the borrowed king, what bid can you make in the direct seat 
with  a balanced 17 point hand?  1NT.  So that should be your bid in the balancing seat with 14 points.  
 
What about reopening (balancing) with a Double?  For a Takeout Double in the direct seat you should have 
an opening hand, at least 12 points and at least 3 card support for each of the unbid suits. In the balancing 



http://www.fifthchair.org 2 

seat, since you will “borrow” a K from partner, you may have less than that.  Reopen with a double when 
you have at least 9 points and the proper distribution.  Look at this example: 
 
The auction has gone: 1D: P: P: ?  You hold: AT64, KJ3, 32, QT43 With 10 points and this distribution in 
the direct seat, you would routinely pass.  But, in the balancing seat, you need to make a call  in order to 
protect your partner who may have a good, but unbiddable hand.  “Borrow” a K from partner and make the 
bid you would make  in the direct seat - Double. 
 
Now let’s move around to the other side of the table and look at some of partner’s possible hands in this 
auction. 
 
a)  K983, A5, QJ53, J82    Partner will “subtract” a K before responding to your reopening double and bid 
1S. 
 
b)  J8, A42, QT84, KQ85   Partner will “subtract” a K from his hand and respond with 1NT. 
 
c) KT, Q54, AQJT2, J93   With no fit in your suits and a diamond stack behind the declarer, partner should 
convert your Takeout Double to a Penalty Double by passing. 
 
The “borrow a K; subtract a K” rule will not cover every balancing situation that you encounter at the table, 
but if you adopt this agreement with your partners, you will be able to handle most balancing situations 
quite accurately.  


